The instant messaging platform Telegram launched the “Stories” feature for all users with a new update after making it available to Telegram Premium subscribers last month.
Stories allows users to share photos and videos with friends for a short time, and they appear above conversations in an expandable space.
Any story can be viewed by clicking on it with the ability to send a text message reply to its publisher, as well as interact with it through emojis.
When you share a photo or video, it appears for 24 hours by default for all users, and Telegram Premium subscribers can reduce the duration to 6 hours or 12 hours, or increase it to 48 hours.
Before sharing the story, users can make edits to photos and videos, add text, location, stickers, emojis, and more.
Telegram also offers additional options such as controlling who can see a story after sharing it, whether everyone, contacts, a list of close friends, or selected contacts, and some people can be excluded from seeing it.
Telegram also allows a screen shot to be blocked or allowed from a story, and allows the story to be permanently kept in profile even after the deadline for sharing it has expired.
After their stories are published, users get detailed statistics of who saw and interacted with the stories.
Users can take photos and videos from within the Telegram app in Dual Camera Mode, which allows the front and rear cameras to be used simultaneously.
Telegram Premium subscribers enjoy some other additional benefits, such as prioritizing their own stories in appearance, as well as the ability to see other people’s stories hidden without them knowing, the ability to upload stories to their devices, and others.
Telegram launched the Stories feature for users on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the launch of the application, and reported that the number of users of the application exceeded 800 million users, according to its official website.